Additional Sanctions Under the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act

U.S. Department of State - Washington, D.C.

Today the State Department, in concert with the Treasury Department, submitted to Congress a list of persons who have been sanctioned under the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act. The Act allows for the designation of individuals responsible for Magnitsky’s detention, abuse, and death. It also allows for the designation of those who profited from Magnitsky’s detention, abuse and death, who helped cover up the legal liability for it, or who were involved in the criminal conspiracy that Magnitsky sought to bring to light. Additionally, the Act allows us to designate those responsible for gross human rights violations against individuals seeking to expose illegal activity by Russian officials, or seeking to obtain, exercise, defend, or promote internationally recognized human rights and freedoms in Russia.

Persons on this list are ineligible to receive visas and to be admitted into the United States. Their property and interests in property subject to U.S. jurisdiction are blocked, and transactions in such property or interests in property are prohibited. The names may be found at the following link: http://www.treasury.gov/resource-center/sanctions/OFAC-Enforcement/Pages/20140520.aspx

- Source: state.gov

Related: Magnitsky Sanctions Designations – 05/20/14

Disclaimer: The Office of Policy Planning and Public Diplomacy, in the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor, of the U.S. Department of State manages this site as a portal for international human rights related information from the United States Government. External links to other internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views or privacy policies contained therein.